Family Holiday? Without me?!

All of us know that organising a holiday can be stressful, by the time I get in the car I am quite simply exhausted. I have a five-year old daughter and this was her first school holiday break so naturally I wanted to bundle the kids up and get away from home. Diesel was however blissfully unaware of any plans or ideas we had to leave him and our other beautiful pets behind. And just quietly I don’t think he was impressed with the packing, he was already a little peeved with life because of the unfortunate bite wound, shave and twice daily antibiotics. So when he noticed us packing he looked like he felt um, left out and Diesel hates to feel left out!

Oh and Diesel is already slightly unimpressed with a few new house guests we have at the moment. My brother’s labrador Jessie un-expectantly had puppies, okay the puppies were expected but only because we took her to see Geoff one week before she had them, it was however the pregnancy its self that was unexpected. They are living at our house because I am home during the day to care for both Mum and puppies, they are now three weeks old and I am still unsure who or what the Dad is although my Bulldog Austin is the likely culprit.

So back to planning a holiday. Our holiday? Sorted, I have an Aunty and Uncle in Invercargill they own, wait for it……..Here comes a plug – Hawthorne Gardens, a beautiful wedding venue. There is nothing like an Easter Hunt for the kids in a beautiful garden. When us pet owners go away there are so many options for pet care to choose from……I have decided on home base care which means I have organised my brother to move in to my place to look after Everyone, easy all boxes ticked everyone happy. I’ve never liked the idea of someone just calling in to feed my cats – how do they know if Diesel is really eating his food, criky any random cat could go in the catdoor and eat his food. Cattery? Yes I like them but Diesel has just moved in here and I didn’t want to take him back to the clinic to stay. I would hate for him to think we weren’t coming back for him and I would hate for him to have to go through the whole adjustment phase again once he got back here.

All in all I think we were sorted, we disappeared for the holidays and we had a great time but it was nice to get back home. What was even cooler was the welcome we got from Diesel when we pulled up in the driveway.

Diesel leaped into the car – I LOVE THIS CAT! Honestly I am a dog person but he makes me question my loyalty to dogs. With this cat our family gets all the benefits of a dog personality without the walking, without the poo collecting off the lawn and without the drooling or watching you eat habits of a dog. Um…..no, I think I am still a dog person, I love my dogs.

He just really is a Remarkable Cat and not just because he is from Remarkable Vets.

3 thoughts on “Family Holiday? Without me?!

      • Alicia I was in the same boat as you. I used to think I’m a feline type of person but then when I owned my first dogs, I started doubting my loyalty. Now I have decided to vouch for both teams 🙂

Leave a Reply

